Buttons_64

B McP, I know you recently transitioned from pc to consoles and now use both.  If I may make some educated guesses… When I first transitioned as well I had the same opinion; coming from a primarily user-driven save systems to ones that are primarily game driven is an adjustment.  Here’s been my experience:  When the user-driven save point places you at an undesirable save point, you’re more likely to be forgiving because you understand that the poor placement is your fault.  You created that bad save point.  In game-driven saving, a bad save point could be, for example, immediately before an unskippable cutscene.  When the game creates what are ‘bad’ save points according to the user, it feels much worse than bad save points created by the user.  That being said, when I play games that create consistently good save points, I don’t even notice.  Which is great!  But often overlooked; you never hear forum feedback about ‘wow, that game’s save points were so well placed’.

In my opinion, the best system has both.  The player can save anywhere they like, but the game also saves at ‘good’ points as well.  This way the player’s ‘protected’ even when they forget to save, plus the advantages of the player saving whenever they like.  Of course, this is also the most difficult to implement.  *wry smile*

