Tags

, ,

Puncherson_64LadyBrain_64

Note: Really no meaningful spoilers, but discussing The Last of Us DLC “Left Behind”

Butch:

Yesterday, threw bricks at a car, asked Riley about my mom, and killed a bunch of clickers with a molotov for old time’s sake.

Feminina:

I do love a good molotov.

Butch:

The whole nuke one clicker, let the rest come running, sit back and watch trick.

It’s the little things.

Feminina:

This DLC does take good advantage of the fact that by now you know tricks like this: you/Ellie are an expert in the ways of the clicker and you can molotov with skill and confidence.

That contrasts with the Riley sequences where you’re doing things you haven’t practiced a lot (roaring, throwing bricks at cars), which highlights the more awkward, inexperienced Ellie you used to be–she, too, was doing things she hadn’t practiced a lot.

As they have before, they use the mechanics of gameplay to underscore some of the basic points of these scenes: the contrast between child/adult, apprehension of danger/extreme familiarity with danger, following someone else/working alone…they use the medium very well.

Butch:

They do. It was also very effective to follow up the loud brick throwing scene where they are making all sorts of stupid noise with the generator/pet shop scene, where the tiniest amount of noise gets you killed. Carefree vs. responsible, unsafe vs. safe, child vs. adult. And it’s gameplay that makes you do it. You can’t NOT throw the bricks, you can’t NOT sneak around the pet shop. You have to experience the contrast.

That and I missed something. I went to wiki to see what the other responses were to the questions I didn’t ask, and, while I failed to find that, I did find that I ran right by a “warning note” that pretty much said that there were infected a comin’, written by a guy who was obviously infected. I ran by it, because I was running after Riley to do something fun, which is unlike me, cuz usually I say “Hey, maybe there’s supplies in here,” but, as kid Ellie, without the Molotovs and bombs, I didn’t bother to look cuz, what could be in there that’s useful, right? Might as well just follow Riley. And miss the ominous warning. It’s even called “warning note.”

Feminina:

What?! I missed the warning note too!

Probably for basically the same reason–at first I was doing the whole “search everywhere” thing I always do, looking for useful stuff, but there wasn’t really anything much TO pick up, and like you I thought “what’s going to be useful here anyway?” so I pretty much stopped even looking.

For shame, us!

Although I guess it didn’t really change the outcome anyway, so if anything we can feel BETTER about ourselves this time for missing something. “Yeah, we should have known better in general, but we didn’t know anything SPECIFIC was out there” is a better memory than “we actually found a damn warning note and we ignored it and now Riley’s dead.”

Go to hell, warning note. I was reveling in the last totally free, silly night of my childhood! We HAD that, damn it. I regret…well, a lot of things, but also nothing.

Butch:

It’s another one of those “has more meaning if you miss it” things so unique to games.

I think that might be a good reason for the existence of trophies. I mean, something can’t have more meaning if you miss it if you never know you miss it. So the “find every damn thing” trophy serves to make people go back and redo stuff to look in those nooks and crannies, then say “Ah! Wow. I missed this. That’s heavy, man” or something. I mean, there’s no way a movie, say, can make sure you go to the bathroom at just the right moment then give you a reason to rewatch the movie to see what you missed. Another game thing.

Feminina:

Interesting argument for trophies as something that adds value to the experience of the game as a world (not just adding to the “woohoo, I won something!” side of things).

Butch:

Indeed. I mean, they’re not always that way (Looking at you, Madden), but Naughty Dog seems to get it.

