Tags

,

Puncherson_64LadyBrain_64

Rather dull gameplay discussions for Transistor

Butch:

So what did I do? Oh, right. Found those dead guys, got on the bike again, feeling endy, but I’ve thought that before.

So once again: “Hello….I’m the bad guy. You don’t know me, but trust me…I’m the bad guy….please hate me….cuz I’m the bad guy…..and now I’m dead, have a trophy. But that’s ok because……I’m not really the bad guy…..this other guy you know nothing about is the bad guy…..just go with it, there’ll be another trophy later.”

Though it’s the sword, isn’t it? The bad guy? Cuz THAT would be SO original. And SO unpredictable.

And once again, the game reached a perfectly valid place to end, and didn’t end. Again. Not a good pattern.

Especially because it needs to actually end soon so I can start TW3.

Feminina:

Yeah, you are actually approaching the actual end now, but that wasn’t it, even though it could have been. Don’t worry, everything will become clear in the fullness of time!

By which I mean, when you listen to That Guy’s detailed explanation after the fact. So, not at all.

Butch:

That SURE wasn’t it! Talk about anti climactic!

“HAHA! I have fought though waves of enemies to unlock this door so that we can have this epic final battle and oh you’re already dead.”

At the very least, I hope that when this game does end, it ends at a point that makes sense as an ending, especially as it has passed on two perfectly viable options.

Feminina:

I wasn’t displeased with the ending. I mean, I still had no freaking clue what had happened or why, but it felt fitting in terms of mood. Kind of dreamy and melancholy and full of lushly beautiful graphics, like the game itself.

Butch:

OK good. Dreamy lush. I bet it sounds fucking fantastic, too.

Feminina:

The sound is actually a bit lackluster in the end sequences…they’re going for a sort of atonal effect that comes across a bit flattening overall, given the complexity of the underlying harmonics.

Ha. I have no idea–I’m sure it sounded great. It fit right in with the lush graphics, anyway.

Butch:

Oh, you gotta go with that! That’s the sort of complete bullshit sentence that is blogging gold!

Can I get it finished today, you think?

Feminina:

Hm. Yeah, probably. There’s not a lot left.

There’s a final battle (sorry! spoiler alert!) that was hard enough for me that I went away after getting to it and came back the next day (at which point it was one of those “this was hard before?” things, where your brain has apparently been solving the problem when you weren’t paying attention), but you probably won’t have an issue with it since you’ve been practicing the combat since the beginning where, as I said, I basically just whacked everything for the first half of the game.

Butch:

Yeah, I haven’t been down more than one function so far. But when that one function is crash, man that sucks. Then it’s all pingpingpingpingpingpingpingpingping mask.

Ping just sounds so wimpy. *ping*

Feminina:

Ping does sound silly…but it usually works for a small amount of damage, and you can fit in a lot of it before your turn runs out. It’s basically a free action. Ha.

You’ll probably be fine in the final battle.

Butch:

It’s weed-b-gone. Go into turn, then it’s pings for weeds! Done.

I am also loving the trick of putting the switch one with mask, where it switches anything you’re near when you use it. Whack whack whack mask. Sit back, wait until recharge.

Feminina:

Yeah, see, you’ll be fine. You’re way more into sophisticated combinations than I was. You’ll laugh at the Big Bad. Mask IS pretty great.

Butch:

If by sophisticated combos you mean putting shit with crash until it is badassed, then yes.

And using turn. It tells you neat stuff like how much damage, if shit is protected, etc, BEFORE you go all bash bash. Helpful. No wasted time.

Gotta get dem weeds.

Feminina:

Well, yeah, Turn. Gotta use that. That’s the critical part I ignored for half the game, though. Makes a difference.

Butch:

Yeah. This makes me a little nervous, re, you and the TW. I mean, there’s more than one thing to do in that game, too. Like, you can hit things…..with swords.

Feminina:

Hey, I MADE it through half the game ignoring Turn. If it works, don’t fix it, right?

Anyway, I’m also very willing to brew potions or forge armor. I’m sure it’ll be fine.

Butch:

It’s true, it’s true. You have, at times, exhibited an ability to master more than one function a game has to offer over the course of your first multi-hour playthrough.

Feminina:

It’s a rare talent, it is, but I’m proud to think I have it.

Can you curry a horse and clean tack in TW3? Because I would OWN that feature.

