Tags

, ,

Puncherson_64LadyBrain_64

No particular spoilers, just griping about monsters and how bad we are at combat

Butch:

Speaking on stuff I don’t want to fight (as we once were), I found a book that popped four things in my bestiary, and each one sounded tougher than the next (sirens, two other things, and the one thing I hated more than werewolves: Harpies. Harpies. Fucking. Suck.)

Feminina:

The harpies I’ve met so far aren’t that bad. They swoop on you, yeah (and as we know, swooping is bad), but a well placed aard knocks them out of the sky and then you can stab them. They were no worse than hordes of flared-up ogroids, I’ll just put it that way.

Butch:

So they beefed up nekkers and nerfed harpies. Hmm. Harpies were nasty. Where did you find harpies?

Feminina:

I have a feeling you may be about to encounter some soon. There’s also a descriptively named “harpy feeding ground” up there on the map somewhere that I wandered through recently. Swarming with the things, as you might expect, but they weren’t too bad. Like many monsters, they are polite enough not to pursue you too far, so you can run off and heal in between fights, and pick them off a couple at a time. A lot of times, it’s all about not getting mobbed. Which is hard enough, I must say.

Butch:

There was a bit in 2 where you had, in order to do a main quest, get to this dude’s hut, which he had protected with a dome of protecting stuff, which was being swarmed by harpies. SWARMED. To make matters worse, it was unclear where the entry to the dome was. It was reapery. Gave me harpy issues.

I found what I think was the valley of the nekkers last week. You’re right: shitty. Harpy feeding ground sounds just as bad.

Feminina:

At least there’s only ONE harpy feeding ground! Not four of them in a cluster within the equivalent of a square mile! (Distance may be exaggeration…I’m actually not sure what the scale is on that map.)

Butch:

I think nekkers live underground and come up multiple places, like ants, or evil groundhogs. Whistle pigs of rot and decay, if you will. One nest, lots of holes.

I just like saying whistle pig.

At least I know they’re not necrophages anymore. Nekkers, I mean, not whistle pigs.

On the necrophage front, I am going to set a worldwide record in being killed when the last rotfiend explodes. Always relaxing a bit too soon, me.

Feminina:

Freakin’ rotfiends…hate those things. More than harpies.

It’s not so much the LAST one for me, it’s just always a problem knowing exactly when to start dodging backwards to try to get out of range. I do a lot of “kill one, run away and save” just so I don’t have to start all over with every other dead monster. Bombs can be good, though.

Butch:

They suck. But they, like harpies apparently, sucked worse in 2.

For me, it’s always the last one. Cuz I always relax. “Phew, I won I’m dead.”

Ok, confession time: I totally suck at using bombs from any kind of distance. I can’t hit the broad side of a barn unless it’s five feet away. Cannot count how many times I have sailed a grapeshot so high the monsters must have been all “What? Fireworks? Pretty.” Maybe I can convince them the war’s over and there’s no more corpses to eat and they should just move along. “Hey, they must be celebrating with all these fireworks. Ah, well. Off to Thedas.”

Feminina:

I have done the bomb-fireworks thing. The monsters look up, puzzled, but take no damage. I curse.

But when you get it right, a nice bomb in a crowd of nekkers or wolves is the best.

Butch:

I wouldn’t know. I’ve never gotten it right.

I think I did once, but I had forgotten to select the right bomb. I was like “HA HA! Success! Wait why aren’t they…..crap.”

Fuck it. I’m sticking to signs.

Feminina:

I’ve done that too. “Take that! Oh…that was ‘dragon’s dream’ and I’m not close enough to set it on fire. Siiiiiiigh.”

Signs are good. Very good.

Butch:

Yeah. I even take back that whole “I can’t get the hang of axii in combat,” cuz I’ve gotten the hang, and it rocks. Did you find the coast of wrecks? I just pirouetted through a crowd of pirates going “Axii! Instant Kill! Axii! You, too!”

Awesome.

Feminina:

No! I haven’t found wrecks! Nor have I done axii in combat! Need to try that. I need to enhance axii, too…I went with igni, but now I’m missing out on conversation options. Next ability point increase!

Butch:

Ah, see, conversations is what made me do it. Maxed igni and axii. The combat of axii is a nice bonus.

You have an axe? You’re parrying? NOT ANYMORE!

And you can instakill them if they’re lower than your level.

