Tags

, ,

Buttons_64LadyBrain_64Puncherson_64

No real spoilers…vague references to the end of the Witcher 3 and to settlements in Fallout 4, but nothing specific

Buttons:

Previously I wrote that Yen had… done… something to Geralt that convinced me that chasing Triss was what I wanted; and now that you’re past it… when I had Geralt tell her the truth again about having lost his memory and she teleported him out over the lake and as a player I had to navigate all the way back just to continue the conversation; yep, that was it for Geralt and Yen in my book. It’s the truth, it still hurts, but that was above and beyond in terms of being upset with Geralt.

As for the ending, now that you’re both past it…

I got the ‘bad’ ending; and it made me feel like I’m a bad father; especially since I have a daughter that I’m trying to instill more self-confidence and esteem in than I ever had. I haven’t touched the game since.

Feminina:

Oh, man, that sucks. I can see the bad ending being especially tough when you have a daughter. But you’re not a bad father, your Ciri just hasn’t fully reached her powers yet! I bet the game Ciri would have appreciated the more protective instincts when she was younger. When the time comes, you’ll totally be standing aside and letting her negotiate with sorceresses on her own and stuff.

Buttons:

I totally hope she eventually does get to negotiate with sorceresses in the future (hot or not, Mr McP). Especially as I would hope she would become one herself. :p

Forgot… in other news, I’m playing Fallout 4. And promptly purchased Fallout 3 as a gift for Young Buttons. She’s not yet started it, but considering how much time she’s spent in Skyrim, I’m expecting her to enjoy FO3 as well.

Back to creating a better settlement in Sanctuary! (No, nothing in that sentence is a spoiler.)

Feminina:

Yay! We’re all playing the same game again!

I’m pretty much just in Sanctuary now, scrapping things and figuring out how to build stuff…although so far all I’ve got is some posts with a roof over them. Walls are my next big project. I do like the idea of settlements, and that your character can actually make a difference in the world by setting up places where people can live (or so I assume from the word ‘settlement’ anyway–as I said, I haven’t actually successfully built anything yet).

This is an interesting quality to give someone who’s a refugee from a pre-bomb, ‘more civilized’ time. Did the PC bring some sort of communal-living knowledge from the past, making a whole “learn from the lessons of the past” message for the game? And if so, will that turn out to be a good thing, or are our settlements going to wind up being a terrible idea and eventually recreating the errors of history?

Or is building settlements just a new mechanic they thought would be fun for players? Reading too much into things is kind of a habit at this point.

Butch:

Thing is, with Bethesda, at least Bethesda games that bother to have themes (stares angrily at Skyrim), those themes don’t always present early. It’s usually after you’ve done a bunch of other things. I’ve said that FO3 was more of a collection of short stories than a novel, and it wasn’t until you “read” a few of them that you started to see how they fit together. It wasn’t a nicely packaged “Short stories about the American Dream.” I mean, I think we’re used to games that just put it out there. DAI? “You’re the one with the mark! You’re the chosen that can save us!” in, like, the first five minutes. TW3? “I am looking for my lost daughter with whom I have had a bumpy relationship that I shall explore now.” In the first ten minutes. Not that that’s a bad thing; those were great games. But that’s generally not how Bethesda does things.

Or it’s like Skyrim and there’s nothing to see. I hope not. I must admit, there was a long time there (or longish, I’m only like 7 hours or so in and a lot of that was tinkering) where I was rather worried that this was a Skyrim situation where there’s a great set up that leads to nothing in particular. I’m starting to think, though, that there is something here.

