Tags

, ,

Puncherson_64LadyBrain_64

No spoilers, but some very random discussion of Garvey and music

Butch:

I can’t believe that beds near noise are hurting things.* Shit. Gotta move the beds.

Feminina:

Yeah, that noise thing was a good tip. Thanks Buttons! Next time a settlement is unhappy, I’ll try moving the generators away from the sleeping area and see if it makes a difference.

Butch:

Move the beds. Far easier.

Feminina:

I dunno, many of my beds are in long rows in sheds I built specifically for them. If there’s a generator outside causing problems, moving it is going to be easier than dismantling and reassembling the shed. Especially with all those kitten pictures and house plants to transfer.

But yeah, if there’s just a single bed that happens to be right next to a generator, which is no doubt hooked up to a beacon and a water purifier and what-not, then it makes more sense to just move the bed.

Butch:

I, like a dumbass, put everything all central. Easier that way. Except the bed in my house. For me and Piper. And maybe Cait later. And Curie.

Ironically, when I last talked to Preston, he was sleeping in the bed closest to the generator.

Feminina:

Ha! The better to be constantly awake and ready to hear about new settlements in trouble, I suppose.

Butch:

Hardly. I had to talk to Preston re a settlement last night (I paid the ransom for some dude down by Fort Strong, got a workshop, didn’t have enough to build turrets, they’re doomed, but hey, ransom), so I woke him up, XP popped, he told me of another settlement then promptly WENT BACK TO SLEEP!

“Go help them, general, now, you understand, I kinda need my eight hours…..”

Feminina:

Double ha!

“You understand I’d go help these people myself, but I get so out of sorts if I don’t get a good night’s rest…”

Meanwhile I haven’t slept in 5 days, but you don’t hear me complaining. Not about that, anyway.

Butch:

I just stared at him a while. Talk about ungrateful. No wonder the minutemen fell apart.

We need that 60 minuteman from the song. Ha!

Feminina:

Triple ha! 60 Minuteman! We’ve found Garvey’s theme song. Only for him it means “I’ll commit to be awake at least 60 minutes a day, but not necessarily when you’re around.”

Thanks, dude.

Butch:

You know, between that, butcher pete, Rocket 69….there were some raunchy songs back in the day.

The one I can’t believe is real is “Crawl out through the fallout.” Damn, man.

Has Magnolia’s “Good Neighbor” song come on yet?

Feminina:

Yeah, I’ve heard “Good Neighbor,” and yeah, people were making seriously weird music back in the day. I agree, “Crawl out through the fallout” is pretty bizarre. Black humor? Romance? Was the original intent to make listeners laugh darkly, or be genuinely moved?

I’m also regularly struck by the bit in “Atom Bomb Baby” where he sings “I want her in my wigwam.” Because…what the FRACK does a wigwam have to do with ANYTHING in that song? I mean, I know, it’s just a word for a dwelling place that rhymes with ‘bomb’ but…words have meaning, people. You can’t just throw them around and expect them to make sense.

Butch:

“I’ll love you all your life time but that might not be too long…”

Damn. Dudes.

But dude, bomb is not an easy word to rhyme in such a way. Go ahead. Try it. Our followers want to see.

Maybe the dude singing is Native American. Ever think of that? Why do you assume he’s a white guy? Hmm? Who’s judging now? Hmm?

Feminina:

“Atom bomb baby little atom bomb/I wanna hold her in my arms.”

Done.

And yes, arms is not a PERFECT rhyme for bomb, but it’s certainly good enough for pop music. And wanting to hold an attractive woman makes way more sense than just randomly wanting her to be in your freaking WIGWAM, which, even if you’re Native American, you’re VERY UNLIKELY to live in in this day and age (or even in 1957).

I CALL NONSENSE.

Butch:

And that’s why you don’t have any top 40 hits.

I thought you’d somehow work in aplomb. I’d try, but no.

Feminina:

Aplomb is ruined for me in this context because of “crawl out through the fallout.” No, I’m sticking with the very, very obvious, the better to prove how extremely easy it would have been to have NOT included a nonsensical reference to a freaking WIGWAM.

Butch:

I think the wigwam line is rather catchy. And, thanks to this discussion, wedged in my head for days.

Feminina:

Hmph. I still say nonsense.

 

*See yesterday’s lengthy discussion of what settlers like.

