Tags

, , , ,

Puncherson_64LadyBrain_64

Some minor spoilers for Uncharted 4

Butch:

I got nothing on the game front. Nothing.

I’ll play today.

Feminina:

I’ve got nothing either, because the baby has decided 9 ‘o clock is a good time to be awake (it is not. It is a terrible time, baby. Horrible, horrible, boring time). I may never be able to play again. Sigh.

I played Pokemon Go! Went on walks with the children (which I would probably be doing anyway), nabbed some pokemon, hit some pokestops, hatched some eggs. The 10km egg was nice–that creature was a new one for me.

Have yet to really figure out the gym thing. I think my monsters just suck at fighting.

Butch:

Hey, man, you had quite the run baby wise. Sleeping the night at two weeks? Even if this is a phase that lasts a few weeks, you’re still playing with house money.

And, while I would usually mock you for getting into Pokemon, I’m sort of glad. You’re so far ahead of me in real games, that this’ll give me a chance to sort of get closer to you not really. Go catch ’em all!

Feminina:

Oh, he’s only slept THROUGH the night one time so far. He usually sleeps DURING the night, though. He’ll wake up to nurse, but then go right back to sleep again.

You should definitely take this time to sort of possibly catch up a little not really.

But do work on Uncharted 4! Vacation looms ahead! A ghastly, gameless interlude with nothing to do but lounge around in the sun with your beloved family and drink. How horrible it sounds.

Butch:

Sun! Family! No games! Boo!

40th birthday. Boo.

Anyhoo, DID just play! Thank you napping Baby McP!

That was a nice bit. Did the elevators, talked to Elena a lot. Got to the point where he admitted he was protecting himself. A first in video games!

Gonna talk about music now.

There are, at times, great moments in games when nothing happens. Here, we have two optional conversations, she says “For better or worse,” you get in the jeep, and there is an EASY, clearly marked, ride for a while, while a sad, SAD song plays. No jeep noise, no birds, etc. Like the game WANTS you to shut up, drive, listen, think. And it worked. You know Nathan’s lost in his thoughts, and, for a little bit, you, at least emotionally, can relate. Perfect, PERFECT use of music.

Someone has to mention it for bloggage.

And using adventure as metaphor for marriage! “We’ve hit some snags, but we’re ok.” “We have a lot of ground to cover.” MAN. That’s good stuff. A little heavy handed, but still. To take a chapter, call it “For better or worse,” and make the very act of climbing up, SOLVING PUZZLES, hitting muddy bits, jumping through the air, and FIGHTING metaphor for a marriage is pretty damn brilliant, and far more thoughtful than most games get. Games put metaphor in the set pieces all the time (usually….maybe not ALL the time….) but to make what you are doing metaphor? And to make this superhuman stuff metaphor for real life? That’s good stuff. What good fantasy/adventure/sci fi should be: a mirror on the real world.

Bravo, chapter. Way to get out of the trope.

Feminina:

Aw, 40’s nothing. I’ve been 40 for years now, and you don’t hear me complaining. Because the written word is a silent medium and you haven’t seen me in 5 years–ha!

Even I noticed that music! Which means it was freaking spectacular.

It was very nicely done. Serious, emotional conversation and then just driving quietly, listening to moody music, pondering for a bit. Not for too long before the action kicks in again, so it didn’t feel too heavy-handed, but there was a definite moment there where you’re encouraged to think about this relationship and the human consequences of choosing a life as a treasure-hunting murder machine. Good on you, Naughty Dog.

Butch:

Yeah, but you’re so emotionally constant. Not like me, so prone to ups and downs and all that.

Get the hell out. You noticed? That makes it the best music ever in a game ever.

Good on them, indeed. But as I was driving to CVS just now, thinking on it, as one does, I realized that, once again, the potentially very good character of Elena is slighted. I mean, her emotions should matter here, like, a lot. She gives hints that there’s interesting stuff behind her relationship. He says “I promised to leave this life behind” and she says “I did, too.” That’s so cool! Why? Tell me! Develop the character! But, in the end, she’s there for one reason: to be NATE’S wife. To be a vehicle for HIS guilt and self reflection.

So when I said “Good on you for getting past the trope,” I may have spoken too soon.

Always drive to CVS before you write.

Feminina:

Well, you can’t help it. Men are just naturally ruled by their emotions. Ha.

It’s true, while awesome, this scene did still do a lot more for Nathan as a character than it did for Elena. ALWAYS drive to CVS before writing! Words to live by.

And while you’re there, stay the hell away from the first aid aisle.

Butch:

Always do.

