Tags

, , , , , ,

Puncherson_64LadyBrain_64

Some plot spoilers for Rise of the Tomb Raider, once the new TV gets hooked up

Butch:

Got no laptop but that’s ok cuz I haven’t played. Holidays. Some days you just gotta drink, eat leftovers and watch sports. Anyway, I was so into the idea of new tv that I just couldn’t face hair in such low resolution.

And my tv is being installed.

Feminina:

The spirit of post-Christmas!

T…V…want….

Butch:

I’m just watching dinosaur train and its creepily better. I can’t wait to see the hair.

So buying the tank top.

Feminina:

Dinosaur train! Dinosaur train! All aboard the dinosaur train!

Butch:

Like 3D dinosaurs.

Christmas monkey’s gonna rule. Only a little late.

Feminina:

You won’t be able to look away.

Not that you can anyway.

Butch:

All kidding aside…..

Get a new tv.

Dude, I don’t even have the 4K yet and it’s so much cooler. The colors, man! The hdr! You just see every little detail. It’s already like a movie. I’m not sure what else a pro can do.

Not kidding. It’s amazing.

Got Jonah stabbed. Gonna kill dudes. Lara’s pissed. I have things to say but no laptop.

But seriously. Yes, you’re cheap. This is worth it.

Feminina:

But what about the hair? Tell us about THE HAIR, man!

Ah, Jonah, Jonah…once again reversing the standard order and being the one who can’t bear to shoot an unarmed person, while Lara was all “shoot him! shoot him already!”

Stereotypically, it would be the more tender-hearted female who would hesitate to shoot a guy at point blank, but here it’s buff, manly Jonah. Which I like, because it not only says that guys MAY actually hesitate to commit murder, but because it kind of lets Jonah stand in for “the average guy” who would in fact probably hesitate to shoot someone point blank, and compares that to Lara’s no-hesitation, kill-the-bastard approach.

And Lara is kind of right–if Jonah had just shot Konstantin, maybe he wouldn’t be in this trouble now–but she’s also less human. She’s lost something by becoming the kind of person who shoots an unarmed enemy without hesitation, and it’s something that Jonah still has, and that we kind of sympathize with even while we say “you really should have just shot him, though.”

It’s not a novel point, to say that going all stone-cold adventurer turns a person into a bit of a monster (we’ve made it many times based on many things in many games), but I thought this was a moderately interesting way to do it.

Butch:

The hair is better.

I ain’t kidding.

Funny you liked it… I was troubled.

A) she fails entirely. A make hero saves the damsel. She did not. But worse:

B) HER agency was completely taken away. In the end, she goes to save him like a hero, but, at the critical moment, her actions don’t matter. Whether he shoots or not is given back to Jonah, the man. “Yeah, ok, Lara, thanks for coming, but how this scene gets resolved is up to the men”. Like always.

Feminina:

Interesting! I see what you’re saying, but I don’t know that I agree that “she fails entirely.”

I mean, he’s not dead yet, and spoiler alert, she’s now going to kill a bunch of guys to either save him (“I’ll save you even if you can’t be trusted to murder a guy yourself, you big lug!”) or avenge him (another super-classic trope, obviously).

However, I do get your point that at the critical moment it’s not up to her what happens–she IS pointedly left banging helplessly on the glass while her male friend and her male enemy work things out.

Butch:

Yup.

“Stay out there, girl. Showing off your ass climbing and jumping is fine, but leave the decisions to the men”.

That jarred.

Feminina:

Fair point.

To argue the opposite side, though, I could say that it was her banging on the glass that stopped Konstantin from killing Jonah right then, by distracting him and giving Jonah a chance to get the gun and be in a position to make that decision at all…so she did save him, for a minute, and it was his own call to not finish the job.

While if he HAD finished the job and killed Konstantin we’d be all “oh, so you can’t let a woman take down one of the main villains?”

Konstantin pretty much had to get away at that point for narrative purposes (I’m sure he’s needed at the Final Confrontation later on), so my reading was more along the lines of “hey, interesting, they had the big manly dude be the one who faltered and couldn’t kill the villain, rather than somehow contriving it that Lara couldn’t finish him off.”

However, I definitely see your point as well. The nice thing about thoughtful literary criticism is we can both be right. Cheers.

Butch:

We are always both right. It’s how we do.

Though….

I think we’re assuming Konstantin is the big bad. I also learned that Ana conned him, cutting his hands. I think the big confrontation might be with Ana. Could’ve let Jonah kill who we thought was the baddie only to have the twist.

Feminina:

No, you’re right, I wasn’t sure if you’d seen that bit, so I didn’t mention that I also believe Ana may be the real main villain. But letting Jonah kill Konstantin now would make that true by default, and I think they want to leave us in some suspense about exactly how that’s going to work out.

Plus, I predict some sort of dramatic showdown between the siblings at some point…Konstantin is going to find out the truth, right? How will he take that? Ana betrayed and used and lied to him, or Ana was simply the unwitting instrument of the Divine carrying out God’s will? Will he turn on her, or forgive her?

Inquiring minds want to know! And we never would, if he hadn’t escaped.

But yeah, we are always both right. It’s in the by-laws of the blog. Once we write some by-laws, I mean.

